The Story of My Boma Life

So remember last week around this time when I posted about how amazing the Dominican Republic is? It’s still true. I wanted to share a little bit more about it, because I love the country so much, but mainly because I love Jesus so much. If you know anything about the many challenges that have presented themselves against my going to the DR, then you know the incredible power of God that has overcome these challenges. I am so blessed to have been able to go to the DR four times; each time has only been possible through the power of Jesus. I shared some of this in church during the trip, and I thought I would share it here as well. Read on if you’re interested in having your mind blown by the love of Jesus.

It is such a joy to be back in Boma seeing all of your smiling faces again. I don’t know if any of you remember me from last year, but I shared a little bit about my journey to Boma and the extent of the impact y’all have made in my life. When I ended my testimonial last year, I ended with the phrase, “and Lord willing, I’ll see you all again next year.” Today I just want to say how incredibly blessed I am that the Lord was willing. This is my fourth year in Boma, and each year some insurmountable obstacle has stood in my way of coming. Whether it be finances, the place I’m currently living, strained relationships, or a combination of all, each year I have questioned my ability to come and whether God really wants me here. Each year, I pray for a miracle. Each year, a miracle is delivered. This year seemed full of obstacles. I started University last fall, and money has been pretty tight since moving from New York to Texas. A couple of months before I was supposed to leave the states, I still didn’t have the money raised to come. I was going to have to take money out of my savings, which would make paying for school this fall more difficult. Well, my mom called and said that the money I made while working in New York had never been transferred to my Texas bank. The money left in New York was enough to cover this trip. If that is not the hand of God, I don’t know what is. But the story doesn’t stop there. Two days before my flight from Texas to South Carolina to join the rest of the group, my mom calls again. She tells me that although she mailed my passport, it had yet to arrive in South Carolina. In fact, the post office didn’t even know where it was. The tracking number said it had never left the post office, but the postal workers couldn’t find it. Instead of waiting for me in South Carolina, my passport was lost somewhere on the floor of a post office in Texas. I was crushed. The possibility of that passport being found and then travelling to South Carolina (an 18 hour trip) in time for the group to leave the country was about the same as the possibility of it snowing here tomorrow. Once again, I prayed for a miracle. Within 24 hours my passport was delivered to South Carolina. So finally it was time for me to actually get on a plane to come join the group in South Carolina. Well, I missed my first flight, the second one was too full for standby passengers, and being in the airport for 13 hours was making me begin to wonder whether I was going to make it out of Texas, much less to Boma. More prayers, more miracles, and I was off to South Carolina on a 7pm flight. I don’t just want to tell you all this because I think Jesus wants me specifically in Boma and has worked miracles to get me here (although I firmly believe that miracles are the only thing that got me to stand here today). I wanted to share this story with you so you could see the hand of God on Boma. This is a church filled with the Spirit of the Lord, and I thank God every day that you are willing to share a small part of that Spirit with me each year, and that He has put me here against all odds. I can only hope and pray that I have been a fraction of the blessing to you that y’all have been to me. Over the past four years I have grown to consider Boma a second home, and you all as family. I will strive to follow the Lord’s plan for my life in the next year, but I hope that you will pray with me that His plan continues to include Boma, and that His miracles continue to drop me on your doorstep. Although we have to leave this beautiful community tomorrow, I pray that I will come home again soon.

I also wanted to share a few of the verses that came to mind when writing this story. The first is Deuteronomy 3:24 – O Lord God, you have only begun to show your servant your greatness and your mighty hand. For what god is there in heaven or earth who can do such works and mighty acts as yours? Truly, the Lord is mighty and great! The second is Psalm 109:26-27 – Help me, O Lord my God! Save me according to your steadfast love! Let them know that this is our hand; you, O Lord, have done it. This is my prayer for myself and for you all. I did not come here of my own accord, but by the grace and power of God. And the last is a verse that was included in one of the groups daily readings. It has become my verse for this week, and I pray it will be yours as well. John 17:26 – I have made known to them your name, and I will continue to make it known, that the love with which you have loved me may be in them, and I in them. 

~Normandy Rose

One thought on “The Story of My Boma Life

Leave a Reply

