Butterflies and Flowers

Pineapple Flowers 3

 

Don’t those look pretty? My mom and I made this for my birthday this past year. It all started with a cake. I wanted to make this delicious sounding cake that I saw on Pinterest (of course, right?). I mixed up the batter, baked it, let it cool, popped it out of the pan, and it broke straight in two. Right before I had to go to work, so I couldn’t try again… So my mom took over. And the same thing happened to her. So now we had two delicious, yet broken, cakes. The day before my birthday. So what do you do with broken cake? You make it into trifle, of course! And you can’t just make a normal trifle for your own 18th birthday, so I had to do something cool to decorate them. Re-enter Pinterest! You’d think I’d have learned not to trust Pinterest the day before things have to be done, but I haven’t yet. The second time time, it was definitely a pin-win, not a pinstrosity. I had seen these pineapple flowers pop up several times and wanted to try them for a while, and this seemed to be the perfect opportunity. It was really simple: slice your pineapple into extremely thin slices, lay them out on a cookie sheet, and bake at 225 degrees for 30 minutes at a time, flipping them over after each 30 minutes. Depending on how thin you slice your pineapple, baking time can vary from about 1-2 hours. When they seem thoroughly dried out, place each slice in a muffin tin (mine went into mini muffin tins because I wanted more of a curve) and let them sit over night. This will make the shape of the flower.

The next step to fancy up my trifles was chocolate butterflies. I had made these before, and I think I put them on the blog, but I’ll recap for you here. They’re super easy to do! The most important thing is DO NOT USE CHOCOLATE CHIPS! The first time I made these I disregarded that rule, and my butterflies turned out extremely lumpy and fragile. Use almond bark. It is much smoother when it melts, and it keeps its shape much better when it cools. Print (or draw) a butterfly design in a couple different sizes. Lay wax paper over your paper designs. Melt your almond bark in a double boiler (or in 30 second intervals in the microwave) and let cool until it’s hardened just a teeny bit. If you try to pipe it too soon it runs everywhere and doesn’t form a butterfly, but if you let it cool too much then it is difficult to pipe. Pour the chocolate into an icing bag (if you don’t have one, you can use a ziplock with one small corner snipped out. Pipe the chocolate over the designs carefully. When you have as many butterflies as you want (I suggest making extra ones in case some break or don’t turn out as well) carefully set the wax paper on an open book, with the butterfly’s spine in the middle of the book’s spine. This will create the arch of the wings. Set the books in the fridge and let chill overnight.

The next morning you can assemble your trifles! I layered my cake with whipped cream and strawberries, with a pineapple f’lower and a chocolate butterfly on each one. I would say they were a hit, even if creating them was a bit more of an adventure than I anticipated! Enjoy!Pineapple Flowers 2

Pineapple Flowers 4

Pineapple Flowers 6

signature

Leave a Reply

