Pretzel Rolls

Pretzel Rolls

 

Oh, dear internet, it has been far too long since my last posting. I have been very busy finishing up school (I finally got the 100 on my Anatomy and Physiology exam that I’ve been trying for), traveling (I was away all of June), and attempting to find a job (hopefully I’ll start next week). In the meantime, I am organizing and packing up things for college (39 days until move in) and, of course, baking. I bring you….Pretzel Rolls!! Have you had Wendy’s pretzel roll (slash bun)? This one is ten times better. And, it’s wicked easy. (I’ve been told “wicked” is a northern term..good thing I’m headed back to TX!) Anyway, back to the rolls. They’re pretty much the tastiest thing since ever. My sister went nuts over them, and they were a hit at the dinner party I made them for. I won’t ever look at a burger bun the same way again. I only have one picture of these because they were gone before I could snap anymore. I falsely assumed that I would have time (read: left over buns that weren’t the ugly ones) to take others after the party. So all I have to share with you is this one I posted on instagram before dinner started. That picture and the recipe, of course.

Pretzel Rolls (recipe found here)

(for the dough)

6 – 7 1/2 cups unbleached, all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons canola oil
2 teaspoons active dry yeast
2 1/2 cups milk, slightly warmed
1 cup water, slightly warmed

Coarse sea salt for sprinkling

(for the bath)
7 cups water
1 tablespoon salt
4 tablespoons baking soda

In a small container, mix yeast with warmed milk and let rest for 10 minutes.Whisk 5 3/4 cups of flour and teaspoon of salt in a large bowl.

Add canola oil and warmed water to yeast mixture. Pour into bowl with flour and salt. Mix together either with the dough hook on a stand mixer or with a spatula. If your dough is too sticky to handle, add more flour until it comes together. Knead dough until smooth. Put the dough in a greased bowl, cover it with a dish towel and put in a warm place to rise for one hour, or until about doubled in size.

Punch down dough and knead in bowl for one minute. Cut dough into 15 pieces, or as many rolls as you are going to want. I made mine to have for burger buns, so I wanted them a specific size. Keep in mind that the dough will rise quite a bit more, so make your rolls about 1/2 to 3/4 of the size you want them to be in the end. Place the rolls on a well-greased surface. Let the dough balls rise for 15 minutes.

While the dough balls are rising, preheat the oven to 400 degrees and get the pretzel “bath” ready. In a large pot, bring water, salt, and baking soda to a rolling boil. Plunge three dough balls (or as many fit in your pan, floating) into the water and let them “poach” for 1 minute, flipping them over half way through. This isn’t an exact science, so don’t freak out. Using a slotted spoon, transfer them to a well-greased baking sheet. With a serrated knife, cut 2-3 lines across each roll and sprinkle with coarse sea salt. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until pretzels are a rich brown. Try to wait to eat them until they are sufficiently cool (note: this is the most difficult part. I burned my fingers, but it was deliciously worth it.) Enjoy!

signature

Leave a Reply

