Chocolate Chip Scones

Image

 

My favorite meal is breakfast, hands down. But my favorite thing is to eat breakfast at lunch time. That way I can eat it when I’m fully awake, and I don’t have to wake up super early to make breakfast early enough to eat it for actual breakfast. My favorite breakfast food is muffins, but my second favorite is scones. Scones are pretty much the best ever. They’re sweet, fluffy, and delicious. These scones were made from a recipe that my bestie Gabby gave me as part of my Christmas present. She also made the tea cup featured in the pictures. Isn’t it the most adorable thing you’ve ever seen? Recipe at the bottom 🙂
ImageImage

Chocolate Chip Scones

2 3/4 c flour

1/3 c sugar

3/4 t salt

1 T baking powder

1/2 c cold butter, cut into pats

1-2 c chocolate chips (as many as you like, I used about 1 1/2 c)

2 eggs

2 t vanilla

1/2 c milk (or heavy cream if you want a denser scone)

Glaze:

confectioner’s sugar

milk (or if you used heavy cream in the scone, you can use it again here)

In a large bowl combine all the dry ingredients. Work in the butter until crumbly. You can do this with a pastry blender, but your hands work just as well. Stir in chocolate chips. In a separate bowl mix eggs, vanilla, and milk. Combine the wet and the dry ingredients and knead until the mixture stays together. Be careful not to over mix. If your mixture is too crumbly and won’t hold together you can add more milk, a little at a time. Form dough into a ball and turn out onto a cookie sheet. Press or roll (I usually just press mine out, but you can use a rolling pin if your dough is firmer) into a circle about 1 1/2″ thick. With a pizza cutter (or a knife) cut out your scones. I cut my circle into eight scones. *Side note: you can press and cut your scones on the counter as well, and then transfer them onto the cookie sheet, but I prefer this way for two reasons. One, I’m lazy and don’t want to move the scones more than once. Two, I like the look of them better when they bake in a circle vs. separated on the pan.* Put the scones in the freezer for 30 minutes. This will help them get a nice brown top while they bake without burning on the bottom. Meanwhile, preheat your oven to 425 degrees. Bake the scones for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown. While the scones are cooling, combine the confectioner’s sugar and the milk for the glaze. For the glaze I just start with about a cup of sugar, then add milk a teeny bit at a time, say 1 T. The closer you get to the consistency you want, the less milk you add per mix. If it’s too thick, it won’t pour onto the scones nicely. If it’s too thin, it won’t set up. I never really measure the amounts of each I put in, but you shouldn’t need more than 2 c of confectioner’s sugar and about 5 T milk. When the scones are semi-cooled drizzle the glaze on them. Let the glaze set before serving. Enjoy!
Image

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Scones

  1. Pingback: Banana Bread Scones | Cooking Is My Sport

Leave a Reply

