Chocolate Dipped Craisin Shortbread

Image

So I potentially have a slight obsession with craisins. Seriously, I put them in practically everything. Smoothies, cookies, oatmeal, my mouth, the list could go on, but I think you get the point. So far, this craisin recipe is my favorite. I made these cookies for my art professor last semester after she helped me get my registration/advisor/life figured out. They are the best shortbread cookies you will ever have. And I’m not exaggerating here. They’re seriously good. You should make them asap. I should make another batch asap.

Image

Chocolate Dipped Craisin Shortbread

1 stick + 6 T butter, softened

1 1/3 c confectioner’s sugar

1 egg

1/2 t vanilla

4 c flour

1/3 c craisins, chopped

Approx. 1 c chocolate chips

Beat the butter and sugar together until smooth. Add egg and vanilla. Stir in flour and craisins. If your dough is too dry, add more butter a little bit at a time until it sticks together. If it is too sticky, add more flour a bit at a time. Form the dough into a long rectangle and wrap in plastic wrap or wax paper. Chill for at least an hour. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Slice your rectangle into cookie size pieces, about 1/4″ thick. Place on a cookie sheet and bake 10-12 minutes or until golden brown on the edges. You won’t have to place them very far apart, as the won’t rise much at all. Place on a wire cooling rack to cool. While they are cooling, melt your chocolate chips (you can also use baking melts, but I prefer the chips) in a double boiler. If you don’t have one, you can make one pretty easily with a glass bowl set inside a cooking pot. Make sure you have about an inch of water in the bottom of the cooking pot and put your chocolate in the bowl. Melt the chocolate on low, stirring consistently. One note about the chocolate: the better quality your chocolate chips are, the better they will melt and the better they will taste. My favorite are ghirardelli dark chocolate chips. Dip the ends of your cookies in the melted chocolate and place on wax paper. Chill until the chocolate is set. Enjoy!

Image

Leave a Reply

