#ODP13 Round-Up

Day One

Day One

Day Two

Day Two

Day Three

Day Three

Day Four

Day Four

Day Five

Day Five

Day Six

Day Six

Day Seven

Day Seven

Day Eight

Day Eight

Day Nine

Day Nine

Day Ten

Day Ten

Day Eleven

Day Eleven

Day Twelve

Day Twelve

Day Thirteen

Day Thirteen

#ODP13 Day Fourteen

Day Fourteen

Day Fifteen

Day Fifteen

Day Sixteen

Day Sixteen

Day Seventeen

Day Seventeen

Day Eighteen

Day Eighteen

Day Nineteen

Day Nineteen

Day Twenty

Day Twenty

#ODP13 Day Twenty-One

Day Twenty-One

Day Twenty-Two

Day Twenty-Two

Day Twenty-Three

Day Twenty-Three

Day Twenty-Four

Day Twenty-Four

Day Twenty-Five

Day Twenty-Five

Day Twenty-Six

Day Twenty-Six

Day Twenty-Seven

Day Twenty-Seven

Day Twenty-Eight

Day Twenty-Eight

Day Twenty-Nine

Day Twenty-Nine

Day Thirty

Day Thirty

Day Thirty-One

Day Thirty-One

And now I’d like to share a little bit about my experience this year. This is my third year doing the October Dress Project, but my first year doing it alone. The past two years I’ve known at least one other person that I saw at least once a week also doing the project. I have to say, the facebook group was definitely a lifeline! I can’t imagine participating without seeing everyone else’s pictures for inspiration and encouragement! I decided to participate because I love the whole idea: pro-simplicity, anti-consumerism, pro-creativity, and also because I love a challenge. I chose a black maxi dress because I thought it would be more of a challenge than last year’s dress (a simple black knee-length dress), and I did a colored dress two years ago. I’m thinking pattern for next year, am I crazy?? My favorite part of the Maxi was it was super comfortable, and I could add basically anything to it and it would be totally fine. A couple of things about choosing a maxi dress annoyed me a couple weeks into the project. 1) Every time I got in the car I would have a ton of fabric to drag along with me. The dress got stuck in the door countless times. 2) Climbing stairs in a maxi dress with a ton of books in your hands is complicated 3) If I wore cute boots or tights no one could see them so what was the point? I did buy my dress from a thrift store, so it wore out more quickly than it would have if it was new, but I’m probably not going to wear it again, so I’m not worried. Not a single person noticed I was wearing the same dress every day. Or at least, no one told me they noticed. Actually, that’s not quite true, one girl that I babysit asked me if I wore a dress every day (this was the second time in two weeks that I had babysat her), then she informed me that her grandmother wears dresses every day. Thanks, kid. Thanks. All in all, though, I think the project taught me (as it has the past two years) that not many people really care what you’re wearing. This always comes as a shock to me, because I care a lot about what people wear. I notice when people wear the same thing frequently. I comment on clothes all. the. time. But honestly, not many people are like me. And it’s good to be reminded of that every October. It cuts my self-importance down a lot. It reminds me that I want friends who like me because I’m a nice person, and not because I have more than 50 pairs of shoes or three shelves of sweaters. The project also reminds me that I have a lot of clothes. Like, a lot a lot. And I donated a ton of clothes before I even started this project! I could probably produce at least double the amount of outfits I had this month just with t-shirts. I was kind of proud of the fact that I only wore one t-shirt all month (Day 31). Another thing I learned was that I find it really hard to pose in a position other than my hands on my hips. I really should work on that… I will definitely be doing the Project next year, anybody want to join me? (say yes, it’s an experience you won’t regret!)

Signature

One thought on “#ODP13 Round-Up

Leave a Reply

